The Land of Stories by Chris Colfer 

The Land of Stories is a series of adventure and fantasy books written by American author, actor and singer Chris Colfer. The series follows twins Alex and Conner Bailey as they fall from the real world into a world full of fairy tales! However they soon realise that there is more to this world than meets the eye. 

Screen Shot 2019-12-16 at 10.09.11 am.png

Library Call Number: FAN F COLF

How to Train your Dragon by Cressida Cowell 

How to Train Your Dragon is a series of twelve books, written by British author Cressida Cowell. The books are set in a fictional Viking world and focus on the experiences of protagonist Hiccup as he overcomes great obstacles on his journey of Becoming a Hero. 


Library Call Number: FAN F COWE

The Wardstone Chronicles by Joseph Delaney

The Spooks Apprentice is the first novel in the Wardstone Chronicles written by British author Joseph Delaney. The plot centres on a 13-year-old farm boy named Tom who lives in the countryside of The County, because he is the seventh son of a seventh son and thus has the ability to see ghosts and fight other supernatural beings.His parents have apprentice him to the Spook, a cloaked man named John Gregory. The Spook travels the County fighting troublesome creatures such as boggarts, ghosts and witches for the people who need these things gone. Tom will have to learn how the Spook fights “The Dark”, so that he may one day become a Spook as well.


Library Call Number: FAN F DELA

Ranger’s Apprentice by John Flanagan

Ranger’s Apprentice is a fantasy series written by Australian author John Flanagan.The series follows the adventures of Will, an orphan who is chosen as an apprentice Ranger, skilled trackers, archers and warriors in the service of the King of Araluen. Will strives to keep the Kingdom of Araluen safe from invaders, traitors, and threats. He is joined on his adventures by his mentor Halt and his best friend Horace.

Rangers Apprentice.jpg

Library Call Number: FAN F FLAN

Skulduggery Pleasant by Derek Landy 

Skulduggery Pleasant is a series of fantasy novels written by Irish author Derek Landy. The books revolve around the adventures of the skeleton detective, Skulduggery Pleasant, his protegé, Valkyrie Cain, along with other friends. The story follows Valkyrie’s struggle to stop evil forces threatening the world, and find justice for her late uncle’s death.


Library Call Number: FAN F LAND

His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman

His Dark Materials is an epic trilogy of fantasy novels by Philip Pullman consisting of Northern Lights, The Subtle Knife, and The Amber Spyglass. It follows the coming of age of two children, Lyra Belacqua and Will Parry, as they wander through a series of parallel universes.


Library Call Number: FAN F PULL

Percy Jackson by Rick Riordan

Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief is the first installment in this five novel fantasy series written by American author Rick Riordan. Using elements of Greek Mythology, the Percy Jackson series follows Percy and his friends as they embark on a variety of quests. The Lightning Thief sees our heroes embark on a journey to find Zues’s (the God of Thunder) missing lightning rods. 


Library Call Number: FAN F RIOR

Harry Potter by J.K Rowling 

Harry Potter is a series of fantasy novels written by British author J. K. Rowling. The novels are centered around the adventures of young wizards, Harry Potter, Hermione Granger and Ron Weasley, all of whom are students at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. The stories follow Harry’s attempts to defeat Lord Voldemort, a dark wizard who intends to become immortal, overthrow the wizard governing body known as the Ministry of Magic and subjugate all wizards and Muggles (non-magical people).


Library Call Number: FAN F ROWL

The Alchemyst by Michael Scott

The Alchemyst is the first instalment in the six volume fantasy novel series written by Irish author Michael Scott. Nicholas Flamel was born in Paris on 28 September 1330. Nearly seven hundred years later, he is acknowledged as the greatest Alchemyst of his day. It is said that he discovered the secret of eternal life. The records show that he died in 1418. But his tomb is empty and Nicholas Flamel lives. The secret of eternal life is hidden within the book he protects – the Book of Abraham the Mage. It’s the most powerful book that has ever existed. In the wrong hands, it will destroy the world. The Alchemyst follows protagonists Sophie and Josh Newman as they attempt to protect Flamel’s book from the evil clutches of Dr. John Dee.


Library Call Number: FAN F SCOT

Wings of Fire by Tui T. Sutherland

The Wings of Fire is the first in a series of fantasy novels written by Venezuelan-American author Tui T. Sutherland. The novels are set in the fictional dragon-inhabited continents of Pyrrhia and Pantala and follow the quests of young dragons as they attempt to fulfil the prophecy.


Library Call Number: FAN F SUTH


Pin It on Pinterest

Share This